What are video download settings and how do I use them on Workplace?
This article is only applicable to admins of Workplace.
Your video download settings help protect copyrighted and confidential videos uploaded onto Workplace. This feature uses encryption to protect videos so that only people logged into Workplace on a supported browser can view them.
Supported browsers and apps:
- Internet Explorer
- Microsoft Edge
To disable video downloads from your desktop computer:
- Click on Admin Panel in the top left of Workplace.
- Click Security .
- Click Video download settings.
- You’ll see a layout of the videos that were viewed and which browser they were viewed from. Click the toggle Disable video downloads.
Clicking the toggle Low video quality for unsupported browsers allows people who log into Workplace from an unsupported browser to watch protected videos at a lower quality.
When Disable video downloads is turned on and low quality fallback is off, people will not be able to download videos to their devices from Workplace.
Keep in mind that this setting only encrypts videos while it’s enabled. It will not encrypt videos that were posted before it was turned on. When you turn this feature off after using it, all videos that were encrypted will stay encrypted.